How to upgrade ImageMagick?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
noobie2
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-07-25T10:28:35-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

How to upgrade ImageMagick?

Post by noobie2 »

I have ImageMagick 6.5.4-7 installed on my server and just noticed version 6.8.9-5 is available. I'm assuming it would be a good idea to upgrade, since that's a pretty significant version difference, but I'm not sure exactly how. I have a VPS running CENTOS 6.5 i686.

Should I just follow these instructions (from the downloads page), or is updating a different process from when first installing?
$ rpm -Uvh ImageMagick-6.8.9-5.i386.rpm

For other systems, create (or choose) a directory to install the package into and change to that directory, for example:

$ cd $HOME

Next, extract the contents of the package. For example:

$ tar xvzf ImageMagick.tar.gz

Set the MAGICK_HOME environment variable to the path where you extracted the ImageMagick files. For example:

$ export MAGICK_HOME="$HOME/ImageMagick-6.8.9"

If the bin subdirectory of the extracted package is not already in your executable search path, add it to your PATH environment variable. For example:

$ export PATH="$MAGICK_HOME/bin:$PATH"

On Linux and Solaris machines add $MAGICK_HOME/lib to the LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable:

$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH="${LD_LIBRARY_PATH:+$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:}$MAGICK_HOME/lib"
$ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

Finally, to verify ImageMagick is working properly, type the following on the command line:

$ convert logo: logo.gif
$ identify logo.gif
$ display logo.gif
noobie2
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-07-25T10:28:35-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: How to upgrade ImageMagick?

Post by noobie2 »

Patience has never been a virtue of mine, so I went ahead and tried to follow the instructions on the download page to install the latest version, but it didn't work.

I tried this command:

Code: Select all

 rpm -Uvh http://www.imagemagick.org/download/linux/CentOS/i386/ImageMagick-6.8.9-6.i386.rpm
Output:

Code: Select all

Retrieving http://www.imagemagick.org/download/linux/CentOS/i386/ImageMagick-6.8.9-6.i386.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
        libfftw3.so.3 is needed by ImageMagick-6.8.9-6.i386
        libltdl.so.3 is needed by ImageMagick-6.8.9-6.i386
        libMagickCore.so.2 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-devel-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        libMagickCore.so.2 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-c++-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        libMagickCore.so.2 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-perl-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        libMagickWand.so.2 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-devel-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        libMagickWand.so.2 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-c++-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        libMagickWand.so.2 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-perl-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        ImageMagick = 6.5.4.7-7.el6_5 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-devel-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        ImageMagick = 6.5.4.7-7.el6_5 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-c++-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
        ImageMagick = 6.5.4.7-7.el6_5 is needed by (installed) ImageMagick-perl-6.5.4.7-7.el6_5.i686
noobie2
Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-07-25T10:28:35-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: How to upgrade ImageMagick?

Post by noobie2 »

Hmm.. anyone?
Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: How to upgrade ImageMagick?

Post by Bonzo »

Did it once on a couple of servers virtually identical and on one it worked and one it failed. Tried it on my server and messed it up and had the server admins upgrade it. Works but they must have done something wrong as I need to use /usr/local/bin/convert instead of convert :(
I did post the method I used on the forum somewhere but I can not find it now.
Post Reply