Page 1 of 1

Transparency when creating a new canvas not working for alpha=0?

Posted: 2015-03-18T22:01:31-07:00
by thatsgobbles
Hello,

I'm a new ImageMagick user, and I'm seeing some strange behavior. When I execute the following command in a terminal (using Windows), I get a canvas that is solid black:

Code: Select all

convert -size 1088x1088 xc:"rgba(0,0,0,0)" empty.png
However, when I specify any other value for alpha, it works as expected:

Code: Select all

convert -size 1088x1088 xc:"rgba(0,0,0,0.00001)" empty.png
convert -size 1088x1088 xc:"rgba(0,0,0,0.25)" empty.png
convert -size 1088x1088 xc:"rgba(0,0,0,0.5)" empty.png
convert -size 1088x1088 xc:"rgba(0,0,0,1.0)" empty.png
Am I doing something incorrectly, or is this a bug?

Re: Transparency when creating a new canvas not working for alpha=0?

Posted: 2015-03-19T02:55:48-07:00
by snibgo
When reporting problems, please always say what version of IM you are using.

On v6.9.0-0 (and 6.8.0-0), your command gives me transparent black, as expected.