Page 1 of 1

Calling mogrify -resize to remote directory

Posted: 2015-06-01T08:44:02-07:00
by AmazingPhrenologist
Hi, I'm new to ImageMagick.

I am calling image magick from a command prompt in Windows 7. I have CD'd to the directory where mogrify.exe is located at on my local machine. I am using ImageMagick-6.9.1-Q16. I am using the following:

C:\Program Files\ImageMagick-6.9.1-Q16>mogrify.exe -path \\server01d.domain.local\Main\Content\32\Processes\ContentLoad\WorkingDictory_20150601111036AM\ImageLoad\Y2015 -resize 300x300 "\\server01d.domain.local\Main\Content\32\Content\Upload\test.jpg"

However, I do not find the resized image at the designated path. Am I doing something wrong that should be obvious to me? Or does ImageMagick not support what I'm trying to do? The process completes without any errors or feedback at all.

Re: Calling mogrify -resize to remote directory

Posted: 2015-06-01T09:32:28-07:00
by fmw42
If you are just processing one image, as it appears by your code, then I would recommend using convert rather than mogrify.

Generally I think mogrify requires you to work from the input directory. So try cd to your input directory and then just use test.jpg after the resize.

Sorry I am not a Windows user and do not know if there are any difference in this respect.

Re: Calling mogrify -resize to remote directory

Posted: 2015-06-02T05:13:06-07:00
by AmazingPhrenologist
Thanks! I'll try that.

I'm curious - is there a significant performance gain to doing images in batches?

Re: Calling mogrify -resize to remote directory

Posted: 2015-06-02T08:11:43-07:00
by fmw42
I expect that processing time may not change much, but I really do not know. Using mogrify properly on a folder of images, saves you from writing looping code for convert.