Page 1 of 1

Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-25T03:19:46-07:00
by Ganesha
I use a jar http://www.java2s.com/Code/Jar/j/Downlo ... 085jar.htm for resizing images like jpeg,png. This jar gives a good quality of image after resize which I feel better than that of imagemagick's command

Code: Select all

convert test.jpg -resize WxH> testresize.jpg
Is there any other way of resizing image to produce the same quality of the jar using convert command?

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-25T04:23:01-07:00
by GeeMack
Ganesha wrote:

Code: Select all

convert test.jpg -resize WxH> testresize.jpg
Is there any other way of resizing image to produce the same quality of the jar using convert command?
Maybe try this...

Code: Select all

convert test.jpg -resize WxH> -quality 100 testresize.jpg

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-25T05:06:24-07:00
by Ganesha
On doing so, what filter it uses?

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-25T07:35:43-07:00
by Bonzo
I think the standard filter is Lanczos; see: http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... php#filter

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-25T08:03:16-07:00
by snibgo
I wouldn't use JPEG as output to compare resizing from two different systems.

Perhaps you can show us an example input and output where you think the java version is better.

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-25T10:02:53-07:00
by fmw42
Lots of different resizing techniques depending upon upscale vs downscale and subject matter. See
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/filter/
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/filter/nicolas/

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-26T04:36:23-07:00
by mikmach
By default IM jpeg -quality is somewhere between 75 and 85. Try passing 90 or 95 (100 is overkill in most cases). Also to improve look of files with sharp edges don't forget about '-sampling-factor 1x1'.

Re: Image Quality in Imagemagick

Posted: 2016-04-26T08:53:58-07:00
by fmw42
IM jpeg default quality is to match the input if the input quality is given or if not use 92. See http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... hp#quality