Page 1 of 1
What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T06:18:13-07:00
by cashy
Hello mates,
I'm kind of new to IM.I have downloaded and installed the software on PC(window 7,32bits),now I have some images I want to work on,please can someone just give me the process(es) I need to do next,lets say I want to image masking.I have the ImageMagick Display on my desktop,please what is its function in image editing?? I just need a lead from the launch of the command prompt(CMD) on my PC.
Thanks in advance!!!
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T06:36:40-07:00
by snibgo
[As your post wasn't related to the thread, I have moved it to a new thread.]
The main reference page for command options is
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... ptions.php
Good places to start include these from Anthony:
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/
Examples there use bash syntax, and generally use small graphics images.
By contrast, my pages use Windows BAT syntax, and generally use photos as examples (because I'm more interested in photo/video than in graphics).
However, my pages don't explain material that Anthony explains.
So I guess there are two ways of answering your question:
(a) Read through, or skin through, documentation to find material that interests you, or that you can use.
(b) Decide what you want to do, then find the documentation on that area.
As a strong overall hint, I suggest you start with the "convert" command. At its simplest, this converts one image to another, after doing some processing:
Code: Select all
convert in.tiff {some_processing} out.tiff
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T06:47:52-07:00
by cashy
Thanks Snibgo for your kind help,please is SELECT All a part of the convert code e.g,select all convert image.png??? Also,from the cmd what can type in there to confirm the software is properly installed and ready to work?
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T07:01:08-07:00
by samiam00
cashy wrote:Thanks Snibgo for your kind help,please is SELECT All a part of the convert code e.g,select all convert image.png??? Also,from the cmd what can type in there to confirm the software is properly installed and ready to work?
no - the 'select all' is not part of the code. It is a shortcut where you can copy the code in the box and paste it into your command prompt.
An easy way to check if it is working is by going to a folder/directory that contains a JPG and type:
If imagemagick is properly installed, you should have a sample.jpg and a sample.gif in your folder.
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T08:44:05-07:00
by cashy
Please from the command prompt how do i connect to the folder containing my images? This is what i have in mind but don't know if I'm correct,on cmd i type: convert image.png image.gif,meanwhile image.png is saved on a folder called cashy on desktop.
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T09:19:32-07:00
by snibgo
You can use the "cd" command to change to any directory. To find the name of that directory, right-click it.
I suggest you find a website that provides an introduction to using Windows.
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-27T11:00:24-07:00
by samiam00
you need to use DOS paths. However, the desktop is tricky to get to in DOS. It would be much easier to have a folder on your C: drive called 'cashy'.
in that event you can either enter:
cd\ [enter] -- that gets you to the root directory.
then enter:
cd cashy [enter] -- that's where your images are
then you can enter you convert command. Alternatively, you can specify the paths in your command:
convert "c:\cashy\sample.jpg" "c:\cashy\sample.gif"
If you are trying to get to a folder on the desktop will be something along the lines of:
C:\Users\[your username]\Desktop
here is a dos tutorial:
http://techiwarehouse.com/engine/21e82a ... The-Basics
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-28T00:39:00-07:00
by cashy
@samiam00,thanks for your lines!!! They are million dollar lines bro,i was able to convert from png to gif with codes.God bless u!!!
Re: What processes do I need
Posted: 2016-04-28T13:49:55-07:00
by samiam00
glad I could help.