Page 1 of 1
convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T08:17:30-07:00
by williamj
Hello,
What am I doing wrong?
"convert.exe" "E:\ProgramData\scanned books\new books\self modifying systems\1_Dir\1_Picture2.jpg" "E:\ProgramData\scanned books\new books\self modifying systems\gifs\1_Picture2.gif"
Standard error states:
Invalid Parameter - books\new
Any suggestions?
williamj
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T08:59:29-07:00
by GeeMack
williamj wrote:Any suggestions?j
You're executing your Windows "convert" command. You need to call up the IM "convert" command by using its full path, or a generally better option is to put the IM directory in your PATH somewhere before the Windows/System directory. Then when you call up "convert" from the command line it finds the IM version first and runs it.
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T09:59:08-07:00
by williamj
Still getting the same error with convert and IM in path.
convert "E:\ProgramData\scanned books\new books\self modifying systems\1_Dir\1_Picture1.jpg" "E:\ProgramData\scanned books\new books\self modifying systems\1_Dir\1_Picture1.gif"
Returns:
Invalid Parameter - books\new
williamj
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T10:28:41-07:00
by fmw42
Quoting should work, but try renaming your folders to remove the spaces and see if that works.
Or cd to E: and leave out the paths and see if that works
Please always provide your IM version and platform and OS.
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T11:55:34-07:00
by snibgo
williamj wrote:Still getting the same error with convert and IM in path.
...
Invalid Parameter - books\new
You are still running the wrong program. "Invalid Parameter" comes from the Microsoft program. Your path is wrong.
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T11:57:43-07:00
by williamj
Hello,
I am now getting:
Invalid Parameter - 1.gif
For this command-line arg:
convert 1_Picture1.jpg 1.gif
I also tried the same file name with a .gif suffix.
williamj
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T12:04:25-07:00
by fmw42
The above people are trying to tell you that there are two different convert programs. One comes with Windows, the other comes with Imagemagick. You are apparently using the Windows convert. You need to find where you have installed Imagemagick and the put the full path to convert in your command.
Code: Select all
path2/convert path2/image.jpg path2/image.gif
Or rename the Imagemagick convert to im_convert or something like that and use that. Or put the path to Imagemagick convert's directory at the beginning of your environment PATH.
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T13:47:31-07:00
by williamj
Ok. I'm confused.
Where is convert located?
Where is the ImageMagick command-prompt .bat file located?
williamj
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T14:00:32-07:00
by snibgo
The ImageMagick program convert.exe is put in whatever directory you gave when you installed it. You can see where that is if you re-run the installation process (without actually reinstalling). If you type:
... this should list all the "convert.exe" programs on your system path. When I type it, it shows:
Code: Select all
C:\cygwin64\bin\convert.exe
C:\Windows\System32\convert.exe
So, if I type "convert", I will get the IM program because that is the first on the list.
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-03T14:32:23-07:00
by Bonzo
If you allow the install program to add the imagemagick path to the envirometal variables path on installation you should not have a problem.
Re: convert command-line not working
Posted: 2016-05-04T15:41:33-07:00
by williamj
Hello,
I managed to get Magick.Net to work.
Thanks for your assistance.
williamj