Page 1 of 1

Error Thrown When Using -hough-lines

Posted: 2016-08-26T20:09:11-07:00
by kc7rad
Hi all,

I put together a basic recipe to detect meteor streaks in dark sky photos. The basic commands worked fine on my Windows 7 machine but I get an error when running it on my Debian Jessie machine.

ImageMagic version: 6.8.9-9 Q16 i586

Here are the commands:

Code: Select all

dcraw -a -T IMG_6873.CR2
convert IMG_6873.tiff -colorspace gray -brightness-contrast -30x20 _1.bmp
convert _1.bmp -canny 0x3+10%+20% _2.bmp
convert _2.bmp -hough-lines 1x10+10 _3.bmp
Here is the error i see from the last line:

Code: Select all

convert: not authorized `/tmp/magick-16735Jm0MOseWEK2x' @ error/constitute.c/ReadImage/412.
I have tried:
  • commenting out the '@*' line in policy.xml
  • using PNG files rather than BMP
  • modified hough-lines options
  • tried running as root
  • reinstall ImageMagick
Didn't want to resize images because the meteor streaks need all the resolution I can maintain. I know i can run all of these options in one call to convert. There will be other things that require the intermediate images to fine-tune the options used in subsequent operations to identify the meteor streaks.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
-Ken

Re: Error Thrown When Using -hough-lines

Posted: 2016-08-26T20:43:13-07:00
by fmw42
Do the examples at viewtopic.php?f=4&t=25476 work for you?

A guess would be permissions on your /tmp directory or it is too full.

Re: Error Thrown When Using -hough-lines

Posted: 2016-08-29T07:29:49-07:00
by kc7rad
Thanks for the response. I tried the sample in that link and convert threw the same error.

So... I installed ImageMagick on my new Debian Jessie, AMD desktop build. It's just a small AMD C-70 APU I built as a NAS and office music player. Anyway, ImageMagick worked fine on this machine and ran my meteor detect script and the sample you linked with no problems at all. Perhaps there is a problem with my other machine, anyway, thanks.

-Ken

Re: Error Thrown When Using -hough-lines

Posted: 2016-08-29T09:40:20-07:00
by fmw42
It could have been a bug in your 6.8.9-9 Q16 . You did not say what version you just installed that worked.