converting 16b grayscale LZW TIF to 16b grayscale uncompressed TIF

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
jp2112
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-08-30T20:43:50-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

converting 16b grayscale LZW TIF to 16b grayscale uncompressed TIF

Post by jp2112 »

I am looking for a way to read in a 16bpp true grayscale TIF that used LZW compression and resave it without compression as 16bpp grayscale TIF. Can ImageMagick do that?
User avatar
GeeMack
Posts: 718
Joined: 2015-12-01T22:09:46-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: Central Illinois, USA

Re: converting 16b grayscale LZW TIF to 16b grayscale uncompressed TIF

Post by GeeMack »

jp2112 wrote:I am looking for a way to read in a 16bpp true grayscale TIF that used LZW compression and resave it without compression as 16bpp grayscale TIF. Can ImageMagick do that?
With current release ImageMagick 6 you should be able to do that with a command something like this...

Code: Select all

convert input.tif -type grayscale -compress none -depth 16 output.tif
With ImageMagick 7 you'd use the command "magick" instead...

Code: Select all

magick input.tif -type grayscale -compress none -depth 16 output.tif
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: converting 16b grayscale LZW TIF to 16b grayscale uncompressed TIF

Post by fmw42 »

I believe that to do what GeeMack said, you have to have an IM version compiled at Q16 or higher, not Q8. But the default IM compile is already Q16. So if you are starting new, the that install should be fine.
jp2112
Posts: 2
Joined: 2016-08-30T20:43:50-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: converting 16b grayscale LZW TIF to 16b grayscale uncompressed TIF

Post by jp2112 »

I downloaded ImageMagick-7.0.2-10-Q16-x64-dll.exe and ran the above "magick" script and it worked! Wow, thanks for the fast reply!
Post Reply