Page 1 of 1

New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T15:59:59-07:00
by Rayj00
So I need to convert a ton of gifs to png and Imagemagick was recommended.

But I am feeling really dumb because I cannot find the "Convert" command?

Help!
Thanks,

Ray

Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T16:18:47-07:00
by fmw42
After installing Imagemagick, you use it from a terminal window by typing commands. What is your IM version and platform? You can find that by opening a terminal or command window and typing:

Code: Select all

convert -version
If all your gifs are in one folder, you can convert them to PNGs using the mogrify command rather than converting them one at a time using the convert command. For example if all your GIFs are in a folder called test1 and you create a new folder test2, then

Code: Select all

cd path2/test1
mogrify -path path2/test2 -format png *.gif
All new PNGs will be in folder test2.

For novices, see

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/

Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T16:53:05-07:00
by Rayj00
I installed ImageMagick-7.0.3-1-Q16-x64-dll

I am not seeing the neither mogrify or convert commands. I do see the html files for them.

I am running Windows 7.

Ray

Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T16:58:11-07:00
by snibgo
They should be in whatever directory you installed them in.

What happens when you type "where convert" at the console?

Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T17:01:00-07:00
by GeeMack
Rayj00 wrote:I installed ImageMagick-7.0.3-1-Q16-x64-dll [...] I am not seeing the neither mogrify or convert commands.
With ImageMagick 7 you'll be looking for a command called "magick". You use that instead of "convert". To use "mogrify" or the other commands, do it like "magick mogrify ...".

Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T17:09:19-07:00
by fmw42
On Windows IM 7, I believe you need to check the legacy option when installing to be able to use simply convert. Otherwise, as GeeMack said, use

magick ...

or

magick convert ...

or

magick mogrify ...

etc.

Re: New User...Where is the "convert" command?

Posted: 2016-10-01T17:13:07-07:00
by Rayj00
Yes. Thanks GeeMack and fmw42. Making more sense now.

Ray