Page 1 of 1

Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T10:54:43-07:00
by nfoesier
We upgraded from version 6.9.0-Q16 to 7.0.3-6-Q16, both are x64 versions.
we were previously using the mogrify command to convert gif to png files.

The command under version 6.9.0-Q16 was:
mogrify -resize 465 -format png c:\foldername\*.gif

this would take the gif files - resize them & convert them to png format & dump the png files to the same foldername as the gif files
we need the same functionality in the new version. The mogrify.exe command does not exist & the ImageMagick website says the command name is convert. There is no convert.exe program with this version either

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T12:07:34-07:00
by fmw42
you need to preface command such as mogrify in IM 7 with "magick"

Try

Code: Select all

magick mogrify -resize 465 -format png c:\foldername\*.gif
magick is the new convert in IM 7. But to call the other modules, you need to specify them by magick xxx, since they are still IM 6 modules called by magick.

See http://imagemagick.org/script/porting.php

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T13:25:10-07:00
by nfoesier
Thanks, That works.

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T13:56:52-07:00
by Bonzo
So out of interest can you mogrify using magick alone?

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T14:03:52-07:00
by fmw42
I do not think so in Windows IM 7, unless perhaps you extract the legacy components. But I am not sure of that. You could easily test that.

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T14:18:51-07:00
by Bonzo
No it does not work.

It just seems strange that "magick is the new convert in IM 7" but you still need to use legacy programs.

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-21T15:35:09-07:00
by fmw42
Did you download the legacy components in Windows? There is supposedly a checkbox in the Windows binary installer that you need to check if you want the legacy code.

As I understand it, only convert was changed to magick, but the other programs need to be called by magick to conform to the way calls are made in magick. But I am not a coder and do not know the details. My rational had to do with the question about using % escapes in montage. I was told that montage was not upgraded to conform to IM 7 code and was just the old IM 6 code being called by magick.

Perhaps one of the developers can clear this up.

Re: Command Line issue after upgrade

Posted: 2016-11-22T00:56:21-07:00
by Bonzo
Yes it works with magick mogrify but not just magick.

Personally if it was going to be done this way I would have tried to make it into an operator and used magick -mogrify but that is probably a lot of work on top of what they are already doing.