Page 1 of 1
Setting Compose Attribute to None in a Photoshop file
Posted: 2017-07-18T14:54:37-07:00
by cspears2002
I have a Photoshop file with two layers, and I want to make the top layer invisible. If I switch that layer off and then run 'identify -verbose' on the file, I saw that the compose attribute was set to 'None'. When the layer is on, compose is set to 'Over'. I have tried multiple ways to set the compose attribute:
Code: Select all
convert.exe -set compose 'None' myPSD.psd myPSD2.psd
convert.exe -set option:compose 'None' myPSD.psd myPSD2.psd
convert.exe -compose None myPSD.psd myPSD2.psd
convert.exe -compose "None" myPSD.psd myPSD2.psd
I think I am running out of different variations to try! Any help is appreciated.
Re: Setting Compose Attribute to None in a Photoshop file
Posted: 2017-07-18T15:00:39-07:00
by fmw42
ImageMagick does not write to or change PS compose settings as far as I know. If it did, then settings such as expressed with -set would have to come after reading the input PSD. But I don't think that capability exists within IM. ImageMagick is mostly a pixel processor. Perhaps you can do that with EXIFTOOL, which manipulates meta data. But I suspect you would need some special tool that works on PSD files.
Re: Setting Compose Attribute to None in a Photoshop file
Posted: 2017-07-18T15:03:47-07:00
by cspears2002
Thanks for the reply! I do have exiftool as well. I can give that a go and see what happens.
Re: Setting Compose Attribute to None in a Photoshop file
Posted: 2017-07-18T15:24:25-07:00
by fmw42
To do that in ImageMagick, you would have to extract the two layers and recomposite them and then save again as PSD. You cannot just use -set to change compose settings in PSD files. I really suspect you would need a PSD specific editor. I do not know of any tool that does that in command line mode. GIMP may allow you to do that and you would then need a GIMP script or a PSD action script.