Page 1 of 1
composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-12T02:32:21-07:00
by BrainwreckedTech
Upgrading to version 7.0.8.6, composite -dissolve is bugged
This works as expected:
Code: Select all
composite -gravity northeast -geometry +16+0 [over-image] [under-image] tiff:-
This does not:
Code: Select all
composite -dissolve 100 -gravity northeast -geometry +16+0 [over-image] [under-image] tiff:-
Version 7.0.8.5 works fine.
Re: composite --dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-12T02:34:12-07:00
by BrainwreckedTech
I wish I could be more detailed, but I keep having to re-login if I do. Seems to be a very short session duration. :\
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-12T10:34:12-07:00
by fmw42
In Imagemagick 7, you should append composite with magick (magick composite) otherwise you are actually using IM 6.
Nevertheless, using IM 6.9.10.6 and IM 7.0.8.6 Mac OSX Sierra and trying both composite and convert syntax, the only one that works properly is IM 6 convert.
Input:
Code: Select all
composite -dissolve 100 -gravity northeast -geometry +16+0 lena.jpg barn.jpg result6.jpg
Code: Select all
magick composite -dissolve 100 -gravity northeast -geometry +16+0 lena.jpg barn.jpg result7.jpg
Code: Select all
convert barn.jpg lena.jpg -gravity northwest -geometry +16+0 -define compose:args=100,0 -compose dissolve -composite result6a.jpg
Code: Select all
magick barn.jpg lena.jpg -gravity northwest -geometry +16+0 -define compose:args=100,0 -compose dissolve -composite result7a.jpg
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T09:59:22-07:00
by magick
Try this command:
Code: Select all
composite -dissolve 100 -gravity northeast -geometry +16+0 \
-define compose:clip-to-self=true lena.jpg barn.jpg result7.jpg
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T10:15:28-07:00
by fmw42
magick wrote: ↑2018-07-14T09:59:22-07:00
Try this command:
Code: Select all
composite -dissolve 100 -gravity northeast -geometry +16+0 \
-define compose:clip-to-self=true lena.jpg barn.jpg result7.jpg
That does not solve the basic issue, especially with convert. If the convert command above works in IM 6 it should work in IM 7. This define was never needed before. Why should one need to add this define, now? None of my images have clip paths.
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T10:50:10-07:00
by magick
There are differences between IMv6 and IMv7 per the porting guide. However, we do try to replicate IMv6 behavior in IMv7 whenever possible. We have a patch to fix the -dissolve option problem you reported. Until the patch is exported, use the -define as we proposed.
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T11:36:46-07:00
by fmw42
Thanks. Please note that the define you mentioned is not listed at
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... php#define. What is it supposed to do?
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T14:05:57-07:00
by magick
See
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... #composite:
Some -compose methods can modify the 'destination' image outside the overlay area. It is disabled by default. You can enable this by setting the special -set 'option:compose:clip-to-self' to 'true'.
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T15:39:53-07:00
by fmw42
Thanks. I had not noticed that feature before, which is documented at your link.
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T15:48:41-07:00
by magick
In IMv6, its called compose:outside-overlay.
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-14T15:54:30-07:00
by fmw42
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-15T05:26:54-07:00
by magick
Fixed. Give the update a day to mirror.
Re: composite -dissolve is bugged
Posted: 2018-07-21T22:16:45-07:00
by BrainwreckedTech
The problem I originally reported has been fixed in 7.0.8.7.