Page 1 of 1
+quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-11-27T06:58:54-07:00
by fthiel
Hello,
I tried to use the +quality option but regardless if I use it without a value or with a value I get the following message:
magick: InvalidArgument '+quality' '(null)' at CLI arg 2 @ error/operation.c/CLISettingOptionInfo/1243.
Is this a bug or is this correct an I'm doing something wrong?
What exactly is the effeect of +quality? My first assumption was it resets the quality setting.
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-11-27T07:19:01-07:00
by snibgo
Why do you think "+quality" is a valid IM option? Is it documented somewhere?
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-11-27T09:45:15-07:00
by fmw42
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-11-27T10:08:26-07:00
by GeeMack
snibgo wrote: ↑2018-11-27T07:19:01-07:00Why do you think "+quality" is a valid IM option? Is it documented somewhere?
I don't know anything about a "+quality" option, but it does show in the list from this command...
It shows up in the list from several versions as recently as 7.0.8-14. I've tried various commands, and I get the same error as the OP with v6.9.10-11 and v7.0.8-14, but I get no error with v6.8.9-9 in a bash shell on Windows.
I could see it being useful in a command like this...
Code: Select all
convert input.png -quality 100 -resize 50% -write output.jpg +quality -resize 50% output.png
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-11-27T19:00:26-07:00
by snibgo
It's documented, so it should work, so it's a bug.
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-12-05T07:48:49-07:00
by fthiel
I'm using ImageMagick 7.0.8-14-Q16 and the +quality command is contained in the command list:
GeeMack wrote: ↑2018-11-27T10:08:26-07:00
I don't know anything about a "+quality" option, but it does show in the list from this command...
and I found it here
https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMag ... ion.c#L923. This way I already found out that there is for example a +format and +verbose option which are also not documented on this page
https://www.imagemagick.org/script/comm ... ptions.php like +quality.
I noticed something, the following commands are working as expected:
Code: Select all
convert rose: -quality 100 -write output.jpg +quality output2.jpg
but if I use "magick" instead of "convert" I can easily reproduce the InvalidArgument error:
Code: Select all
magick rose: -quality 100 -write output.jpg +quality output2.jpg
magick: InvalidArgument '+quality' '(null)' at CLI arg 6 @ error/operation.c/CLISettingOptionInfo/1243.
I also tried out magick-script and got the same error:
Code: Select all
C:\temp\test>magick -script -
rose:
-quality 100
-write output.jpg
+quality
magick: InvalidArgument '+quality' '(null)' in "stdin" at line 4,column 1 @ error/operation.c/CLISettingOptionInfo/1243.
So this looks like a bug to me.
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-12-05T09:47:51-07:00
by magick
Thanks for the problem report. We can reproduce it and will have a patch to fix it in GIT master branch @
https://github.com/ImageMagick/ImageMagick later today. The patch will be available in the beta releases of ImageMagick @
http://www.imagemagick.org/download/beta/ by sometime tomorrow.
Re: +quality always throws InvalidArgument error
Posted: 2018-12-05T23:45:58-07:00
by fthiel
Thank you for looking into this.