Page 1 of 1
ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-25T06:32:27-07:00
by Galajas
why imagemagick don't use all CPU?
In Task Manager i see max 3% all CPU use.
Win 7 - ImageMagick-7.0.8-Q16
Code: Select all
Resource limits:
Width: 214.748M
Height: 214.748
List length: -1
Area: 8.56778GP
Memory: 3.98968
Map: 7.97936GiB
Disk: unlimited
File: 1536
Thread: 12
Throttle: 0
Time: unlimited
Its posible do something, that ImageMagick use more CPU, becouse i work with big size PGM raw and TIFF images.
Re: ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-25T09:52:37-07:00
by snibgo
What is your IM command?
I suppose you have 12 processors. Some IM operations (eg "-blur") will multi-thread, but some will not. In general, reading and writing files is single-threaded.
Re: ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-25T10:03:53-07:00
by fmw42
This post is not about PAID Consulting, so I have moved it from the Consulting forum to the User's forum.
Re: ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-26T01:21:31-07:00
by Galajas
Hello,
I am take PDF and with GhostScript i convert in to PGMraw, and then with IM make these changes.
Code: Select all
start /wait "" "magick" "%~p1%~n1_converted.pgm" -threshold 84%% -bordercolor white -border 944x944 -negate -resize 99.75%% -density 2400 -units PixelsPerInch "%~p1%~n1_converted.tiff"
It is even possible, make IM take more CPU not just 1-5%?
Re: ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-26T07:33:19-07:00
by snibgo
How large is your input, in pixels? Perhaps you don't have enough memory, so IM has to store the pixel caches on disk, so most of the time is spent reading/writing the disk, so the CPU is mostly waiting for disk.
Re: ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-26T09:02:21-07:00
by Galajas
my PGM one of size input is 46048 x 22612px.
Maybe i can make somewhere to unlimited all these resources?
Re: ImageMagick and CPU
Posted: 2019-03-26T09:29:00-07:00
by snibgo
That needs about 8 GB memory just to read the image, before doing any processing. Your "-list resource" is truncated, but it seems you don't have enough memory.