Page 1 of 1

How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-20T16:35:09-07:00
by BWT
Trying to convert a TIF file to a rasterized EPS file using "convert -density 300 test.tif test.eps". But Photoshop prompts the resolution when I open the EPS file. Is there a way to output raster EPS file? Thanks.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-20T18:18:06-07:00
by magick
ImageMagick does not create an EXIF profile but will update it if it has one. Adding an EXIF profile to your TIFF image will solve your problem.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-21T16:00:38-07:00
by BWT
Thank you very much for your reply. The TIF file has an EXIF profile and I tried it with PSD and raster EPS as a source file and it seems that it does not matter what the source file is, IM just outputs vector EPS.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-21T17:17:31-07:00
by anthony
I just talked with someone else about something simular (Adobe Illistrator postscript file to epsi)

If a vector EPS output is being produced, it means IM used some sort more direct and short-circuit delegate, by-passing the normal read, modify and save methodology of IM.

You can fix that problem by forcing IM to actually read and save the image by doing some operation that doesn't actually change the image. Say draw a transparent line, or do a 'Dst' compose operation. Anything. Then IM will actually read the image and save it again.

Strange that you can not actually use the -noop (no operation) argument for this.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-27T14:33:34-07:00
by BWT
Photoshop still displays the resolution prompt when I open the generated EPS file. Even when my original is a photoshop eps file. Which information is being stripped or added from the file that prevents photoshop from recognizing it? (it has EXIF)

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-27T18:03:54-07:00
by magick
ImageMagick checks to see if the image is tainted to determine if it will use the Ghostscript delegate to convert PS to EPS or EPS to PS, etc. We could have -noop set the taint variable or we could add a -taint option. Let us know your preferences. Oh, taint means the image pixels have been modified.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-27T20:06:34-07:00
by anthony
probably a -taint option... I'll detail it in the slowly developing 'delegates' section of IM Examples, File handling.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-28T12:24:15-07:00
by BWT
Maybe it would help if we rephrase our question and give you more background information:

We input PSD, TIF and Photoshop EPS files and generate versions of the original source file in different format at different resolution. For example the original PSD file with a resolution at 300dpi need to be converted into
72dpi.psd
120dpi.psd
72dpi.tif
120dpi.tif
72dpi.jpg
120dpi.jpg
72dpi.eps
120dpi.eps

we've been successful with all the file conversions except generating Photoshop EPS. It seems to only generate a Vector EPS, or at least the generated file is treated as a vector EPS by photoshop (we get the resolution/color mode prompt when opening in photoshop).

We originally used the following command line:

retval = img.convert("D:\test\300dpi.psd", "-limit", "memory", "512", "-limit", "map", "2048", "-units", "PixelsPerInch", "-resample", "120x120" "D:\test\120dpi.eps")


With Anthony’s suggestion:

retval = img.convert("D:\test\300dpi.psd", "-limit", "memory", "512", "-limit", "map", "2048", "-units", "PixelsPerInch", "-resample", "120x120", "-compose", "dst", "D:\test\120dpi.eps")


With Ghostscript:

gswin32.exe -dNOPAUSE -dTextAlphaBits=4 -sDEVICE=epswrite -r120 -dBATCH -dEPSCrop -dUseCIEColor -dDOINTERPOLATE -dQUIET -sOutputFile="120dpi.eps" "300dpi.eps"


Is there a better way to go about this process? Thank you very much for your time and help.
BWT

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-02-28T21:13:47-07:00
by anthony
Convert will do a direct delegate conversion from PDF to EPS without full rasterization when no other processing is going to be applied.

Chrisy is looking at adding a -taint option that marks the image as 'modified' forcing convert to actually output the rasterized version of the source image, rather than a direct conversion. Should be available in a few days..

For more information see the (very rough) notes of Delegates, in IM examples
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/files/#delegates

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-03-04T16:02:58-07:00
by BWT
Anthony, in your usage example, when you do "convert -density 300 map.ai -flip -flip map.eps" and open the eps file in Photoshop you actually don't get resolution prompt window? Please tell me I'm not crazy.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-03-04T18:37:58-07:00
by anthony
Sorry I can't really tell if you are crazy or not!!!

I am a Linux user and don't use Windows if i can posibly help it. I just find it to restrictive to my work (I am a UNIX expert after all). As such I do not own or use photoshop, I avoid TIFF, and if I really need to use an Image Editor (rarely) I use Gimp. :lol:

My example was produced from experiments while trying to resolve a simular conversion problem by another user. From this I learned of the delegate 'short-circuit' that IM can do when image converts did not change the image itself. And so added it to the Delegates section of IM Examples.

However the image produced my IM from a tainted image (which the double flip produces) is completely different to a ghostscript delegate conversion you get from an untainted image. For one thing it is rasterized and has a definate DPI associated with it. Normal postscript (without raster image includes) do not have any DPI associasions.

You can specify the DPI (setting the final image page size) using -density BEFORE actually having it read the postscript.

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2007-03-05T11:59:42-07:00
by BWT
anthony wrote: You can specify the DPI (setting the final image page size) using -density BEFORE actually having it read the postscript

But isn't it what I do in your double flip exapmle? If not, could you please show me the syntax?
anthony wrote: I do not own or use photoshop

You are lucky man :) Unfortunately, the users who will use the output files do. So I guess I'll just have to deal with that limitation.Thank you very much for your answers, guys!

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2009-03-05T03:20:32-07:00
by deepersee
Hello
I know this is a very old thread but i have exactly this problem which is explained here. Is there a solution now? I searched for days but i can't get it (I am a rookie with ImageMagick).
-Maybe with a workaround Photoshop EPS -> resized Tif -> Photoshop EPS
I Work on Windows XP
ImageMagick-6.4.9-Q16
gs8.64

Re: How to output a raster EPS?

Posted: 2009-03-09T06:52:51-07:00
by deepersee
It would be enough to give out a rastered eps (wrapped eps), or good looking eps, with a clipping path, that works in a layout program.
You can tell me if this question is stupid. :?