Page 1 of 1

convert.exe creates two images, not one

Posted: 2010-07-29T14:09:28-07:00
by nycynik
I am converting some .tiff images to jpegs, and resizing them at the same time (creating thumbnails)

When i do this, it generates two images, instead of one as I expected. Is this a bug or a feature?

Convert.exe original.tiff new.jpg

results in

new-0.jpg
new-1.jpg

instead of

new.jpg

Thanks!

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Posted: 2010-07-29T14:21:14-07:00
by Drarakel
There are probably two images in your TIFF file. If you only want to process the first page, you can type 'original.tiff[0]' instead of just 'original.tiff', for example.
See here: http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/files/#read_mods

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Posted: 2010-07-29T14:56:44-07:00
by nycynik
That is great information, and it does work, thank you!

Do you know, i did not see anywhere, a way to select this without using the special [..], and instead a command line switch?

Thanks either way!

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Posted: 2010-07-29T15:06:08-07:00
by fmw42
identify image

will list the image info for each frame/page

or use

convert image -format "%n" info:

to tell you the number of frames/pages. see http://www.imagemagick.org/script/escape.php

The only way to select one or more is by using the [...] bracket notation. See http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php under selecting frames

Re: convert.exe creates two images, not one

Posted: 2010-08-01T20:18:40-07:00
by anthony
nycynik wrote:Do you know, i did not see anywhere, a way to select this without using the special [..], and instead a command line switch?

Code: Select all

convert tiff_image delete 1--1  image.jpg
The delete deletes all images from 1 (second image index 1) to -1 (last image). if there are no images in that command does nothing.