Page 1 of 1

Question regarding convert -blur

Posted: 2013-03-28T17:30:10-07:00
by elkayein
Hello,

This is probably trivial but I couldn't find an appropriate answer in the documentation. I am trying to understand an existing script that uses convert in this syntax

Code: Select all

convert -quality 100 -blur 10 xxx.jpg xxx.jpg
I see that blur has only one argument,10. Is this the radius? Does that mean the Sigma is 0? Because the documentation at http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... s.php#blur tells me that Sigma is mandatory.

Thanks!

Re: Question regarding convert -blur

Posted: 2013-03-28T18:16:10-07:00
by snibgo
That page says:

Code: Select all

-blur radius
-blur radius x sigma
This means you can provide either the radius alone, or the radius and sigma separated by "x".

And your command has arguments in the wrong order. It should be:

Code: Select all

convert xxx.jpg -quality 100 -blur 10 xxx.jpg