Page 1 of 1

Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Posted: 2014-09-22T16:45:52-07:00
by Draketar
Hello there,

I'm having a hard time here, I'm trying to convert all .jpeg I have in a folder thanks to the command
convert –resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
but I have always have this error showing up :

Microsoft Windows [version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. Tous droits réservés.

C:\Users\Cyril>cd C:\Users\Cyril\Desktop\Photos\Resize

C:\Users\Cyril\Desktop\Photos\Resize>convert -resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
convert.exe: unable to open image `â?"resize': No such file or directory @ error
/blob.c/OpenBlob/2709.
convert.exe: no decode delegate for this image format `' @ error/constitute.c/Re
adImage/501.
convert.exe: unable to open image `1600x1200': No such file or directory @ error
/blob.c/OpenBlob/2709.
convert.exe: no decode delegate for this image format `' @ error/constitute.c/Re
adImage/501.

C:\Users\Cyril\Desktop\Photos\Resize>

My computer is running with Windows 7 x32

Thanks for your help

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Posted: 2014-09-22T16:53:08-07:00
by fmw42
convert –resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
Convert does not work this way. It needs one input specified and one output. You would have to loop over each image and process it.

But mogrify works the way you want. It process all files in a folder and makes an output for each.

Code: Select all

mogrify –resize 1600x1200 *.jpg
But you will walk over each input with the output, unless you use the -path option.

see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/basics/#mogrify

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Posted: 2014-09-22T17:10:02-07:00
by Draketar
Well, I'm very new to this...it worked 2 times then begun to bug.
Is there any software or command that I can use to do multiple resize ? Like it work with a Droplet: with photoshop but with a free software ?

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Posted: 2014-09-22T18:36:01-07:00
by fmw42
Yes, IM can do that, but you need to write a script. In your case, for droplet, it would be a Windows Bat file and I do not use Windows. So one of the other Windows users would need to help you. Here is the basic command of the form you need for each image. See
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/files/#write

For new users, see

http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... -tools.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... essing.php
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/reference.html
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/

Also see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/windows/

since in Windows, parentheses are not escaped by \ and new lines are symboled by ^ rather than \

Re: Convert.exe error impossible to resize .jpeg

Posted: 2014-09-24T19:11:49-07:00
by Draketar
I will see what I can do ! Thank you for help :)